Navdurga: Nine Aspects of the Goddess Durga and Their Astrological Alignments

Posted On: April 4, 2024

Navratri is an Indian festival to celebrate the Navdurga, which originally meant the nine forms of Goddess Durga. Goddess Durga represents power and protects its devotees. The main essence of Maa Durga is courage and heroism. The nine days are dedicated to the nine forms of Durga and each day a different form is worshipped.


Navdurga:  Nine forms of Goddess Durga

  1. Shailputri:

Goddess Shailputri is worshipped on the first day of Navratri. Shailputri is a combination of two words, “Shail” in Sanskrit means Mountain, and “Putri” means daughter. This divine form of Maa Durga has a lotus flower in the right hand. She is the daughter of the Mountain. On the first day of Navdurga, Maa Shailputri is offered Banana and ghee made of cow milk. The lucky color for the first day of Navratri is Yellow.

  1. Brahmacharini:

The second divine form of Durga is Brahmacharini. She is known as the goddess of love and loyalty. With a water pot in one hand and a rosary in the other, she is one of the most beautiful forms of Durga. She rules the planet Mars and is believed to provide good fortune to the devotees. Goddess Brahmacharini is the Goddess of knowledge and Rudraksha is her favourite ornament. The color for this day of Navratri is Green.

  1. Chandraghanta:

On the third day of Navratri, Goddess Chandraghanta is worshipped. She has a crescent moon on her forehead and is golden in color. This form of Durga rides a tiger. People who worship her are blessed with bravery. With ten hands and three eyes, Goddess Chandraghanta is the married form of Devi Parvati. She blesses with peace and takes away the sorrow from her devotee’s life. Gray color can be worn on this day of Navratri.

  1. Kushmanda:

The fourth form of shakti is Goddess Kushmanda. Also known as Ashta-bhujadhari, she has eight arms and rides a lion. Devi Kushmanda is offered pumpkin as it’s her favourite offering. By worshipping this Goddess, devotees are blessed with long life, strength, and power. The color for the fourth day is Orange.

  1. Skandamata:

On the fifth day, goddess Skandamata is worshipped. She is the mother of Lord Kartikeya. With the lion as her ride, she has four hands with baby Skanda in one of her hands. By worshipping Goddess Skandamata, all wishes are fulfilled and the path of salvation is opened for the devotees. The color for the fifth day is White.

  1. Katyaini:

Goddess Katyaini is the sixth form of Goddess Durga. She rides a lion and carries a sword and lotus flower. She killed Mahishasur after receiving powers from the devas. On this day of Navratri, she is offered Kheer and Honey. Red is the color for the sixth day.

  1. Kaalratri:

The seventh Shakti Roop is Goddess Kaalratri. She is the destroyer of darkness and has a fierce look. This form of Goddess Durga killed demons like Shumbha and Nishumbha. Her vehicle is a donkey and she has three eyes. On the seventh day of Navratri, she is offered milk and sugarcane juice. The color for the seventh day is Royal Blue.

  1. Mahagauri:

This form of Maa Durga has the fairest complexion. She has the brightest complexion and is mounted on a bull. This form of Goddess shows the softer side of Durga and is known for her beauty and compassion. She holds a damroo in one hand and grants blessing from the other hand to her devotees. The color for this day of Navratri is Pink.

  1. Siddhidatri:

This form of Navdurga is seated on a lotus. Goddess Siddhidatri represents creation and is worshipped on the final day of the Navratri. She is four-armed and her vehicle is a lion. Goddess Siddhidatri grants 26 wishes of her devotees and blesses them with good fortune.


Navdurga represents the nine forms of Goddess Durga that are worshipped in the Navratri; these nine forms bless their devotees with knowledge and wisdom.

For any astrology-related advice, Please contact Jyotish Ratan Kendra.


>> Mob No.: +91-8527749889, 9971198835

>> WhatsApp: +91-8527749889

We take pride in providing our customers with the highest quality products and excellent customer service. Our services include Yantras and KavachOnline PujaKundali Vishleshan (preparing and consulting birth charts), Vastu Shastra, and Gemstones and Rudraksha recommendations.

Celebrities Reviews & Testimonials

Share this:

For Horoscope/Kundli Consultation, Please Call us or WhatsApp Us at: +91-8527749889